Skip navigation

Time for another project update. The BA-64 armored cars were completely finished, including a nice weathering job if I may be permitted to say so. They looked a bit shiny to me, so I hit them with another shot of Dullcote – don’t varnish over weathering powders, duh! Gone, has to be done over. So, nearly done … I was a bit impatient with these, and it shows. Detailed, varnished, decals applied, dullcoted, weathered, sealed with alcohol, and re-dullcoted in one evening has washed out much of the detail. Being in a rush sucks, they should have dried overnight between most of those steps. A saying I use in the office applies – I didn’t make time to do it right, now I have to make time to do it twice ;->

I’ve got the rest of the Company on the table for final assembly and painting. 3 SU-122’s, 4 120mm mortar teams, 2 81mm mortar teams (I’ll stick these on a large base and proxy as 120’s for the tournament), and 2 HMG teams. I have until June 7th to get this all finished, if I have any spare time I may do a few AA Trucks and I’ll do the extra 120mm mortars rather than proxy.

Note on the PSC Heavy Weapons set – I like the scale and the clean detail, but the crew are in goofy poses, and there is a limited variety. They are also a little fiddly to assemble, lots of tiny bits. At some point in the future, I’ll pull the crew and use something else, maybe BF or Peter Pig. I used Vinyl Spackling Compound to level the bases and to adhere the models – the crew are on “pitchers mounds” and the weapons are not. If the bases are terrained after assembly, the weapons look like they are sitting in sand traps!

Note on the Skytrex/Command Decision/Old Glory armored cars. The amount of mold flash is almost beyond belief. I gave up trying to clean it all up and just weathered over the worst of it, using it as a base for mud! The SU-122’s are from the same manufacturer and have almost no flash, so maybe just a bad batch of models.

SANY1063SANY1060SANY1061

Leave a Reply

