Skip navigation

Got in a little FoW action while travelling in Canada. Three rounds, late war, 1650 points. A nice bunch of gamers in a decent sized room.

The list I played:

image

I painted up the IS-2’s in my hotel room the night before the tournament, so I had to give them a go.

I am writing this up about a month after the tourney, so my recollection is a bit fuzzy unfortunately.

First Round: Fighting Withdrawal (defender)

First round was as defender in Fighting Withdrawal. I kept the IS-2’s in ambush and deployed the rest with one infantry company covering each objective. On my right, my Su-122’s engaged the enemy infantry and a Tiger. I basically ignored the Tiger to set up a fire base against the infantry. It turned out to be a straight trade platoon for platoon – the tiger killed my assault guns as my assault guns wiped out his infantry.

On the left he tried wiping out my Katy launchers before turn three to force me to withdraw a platoon that was more useful. He wasn’t able to kill the last stand before I withdrew the platoon, but he mistakenly rolled for firepower when he might not have had to. This could possibly have altered the game as he might have played a turn on two more aggressively if he got the launchers on turn two.

As it was, I never actually had to withdraw a platoon after the rocket launchers on turn three. The Su-122’s were killed and that was that, down to four. I really don’t think it would have made a difference, but it might have.

In any case, the IS-2’s were very ineffective once they came on board (against Panthers and Tigers) but did act as an effective deterrent to early aggression. I ended up having to feed teams forward to contest until removing objectives. My opponent had a last-minute charge to try to kill my Mortar platoon and cause a company morale check, but couldn’t reach them in time.

I won the first round 4-3.

Second Round (attacker, don’t remember the scenario)

I played against a very nice young man running some kind of French list with all kinds of special rules. Effective flamethrowing, assault guns, IS-2’s in an anti-tank role against Shermans and a long bloody assault that chewed up about 20 teams across both sides led to a fairly convincing win.

Second round, 6-1 win.

Third Round: don’t remember the scenario details

This was a very close fought game that ended up a 2-3 draw/loss. Probably the most exciting and closely fought game I’ve played so far. This game featured a duel between Pak40’s supported by Marders and my IS-2’s that I just couldn’t win. Not enough shots, even though my tanks should have ROFL-stomped light armor with AT12. Nope, you have to hit to win and when I did score hits I couldn’t pass a firepower check for my life.

One sour note – I have this terrible habit of not “seeing” the objective that my opponent places on the board. At just about any time in this game after the third turn I could have made a dash for a wide-open objective on my left but I just didn’t see it.

Last round, 2-3 draw/loss

Final thoughts – played with a really nice bunch of guys, made a long business trip quite enjoyable. I hope to play with this group again.

Leave a Reply

